Skip to main navigation.

What is a Cooperative?

Tri-County Electric Cooperative has been committed to providing our member-owners with safe, adequate and and reliable electric service, superior customer service and innovative energy solutions, all at reasonable prices. The not-for-profit cooperative was incorporated in 1938 to provide electric service to residents in the rural areas of Jefferson, Marion and Washington Counties in Southern Illinois.

An electric cooperative is a member-owned and controlled utility providing electricity and associated services to members at cost.

Electric cooperatives were established by rural pioneers in the late 1930s and early 1940s to provide electricity to rural Americans in places where investor-owned utilities wouldn't or couldn't serve because of cost and follow a set of principles.

Rural electrification was made possible by the Rural Electrification Administration (REA), created by executive order of President Franklin Roosevelt on May 11, 1935. REA made low-interest financing available enabling cooperatives to build power lines into rural areas.

More than 75 years later, electric cooperatives across the country provide electricity for businesses and industries as well as farms, residences and recreational areas.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Click to receive our newsletter